Halloumi rice salad

Hi everyone,

Long time no post, I know! I had an accident at work a few weeks ago and I’m still using my crutches and walking cast, so I’ve not been as active as usual. I can still cook, with the help of a kitchen chair to kneel at the worktop, but I have to admit it’s so awkward getting around that I can’t be faffed getting my camera out and taking pictures of everything as I usually do. On top of that, I just moved house, so I’m a wee bit behind.

That being said, I do have a recipe to share with you today- Halloumi and Mediterranean vegetable rice salad. It’s really simple, but more importantly, really tasty! Mr Scrumptious (not a salad lover) came back for more, so it must be good!

I made up this recipe two nights ago as we had some leftover rice from our albóndigas con salsa tomate (my recipe another time!). Re-using rice has its dangers, but so long as you refrigerate it quickly and use it within 24 hours, you should be safe. Don’t leave rice lingering overnight. Other ideas for re-using rice include my Stuffed Peppers recipe, or simply going back for seconds!

For the salad leaves, I used fresh leaves cut from my ‘living salad’ windowsill tray. These are great, no limp lettuce going mushy in your fridge and very little waste, just a healthy, tasty, perfectly fresh salad on your windowsill waiting to be harvested. It’s a much better taste!

Ingredients

1 block halloumi cheese

Around 1/4 butternut squash

Red bell pepper- a half to a whole

Zucchini- same

Basil, rosemary, oregano, thyme, to taste

Olive oil

1/4- 1/2 an onion or one large shallot

Leftover cooked white rice- as much as you have

Pesto

Salad leaves of your choice

Other salad ingredients of your choice- I went for a little yellow bell pepper.

Balsamic vinegar (optional)

A little vegetable stock (optional)

 

Method

  1. Slice the halloumi, and lightly coat it with oil.
  2. Chop your vegetables relative to cooking time (so butternut squash into tiny cubes, zucchini into slightly bigger chunks, bell pepper a little bigger still, and so on). Dice your onion.
  3. Pan-fry the onion and halloumi on a medium heat, until firm and golden brown.
  4. Remove the halloumi and place to one side. Dry on kitchen towel if you want to reduce the oil.
  5. Add your vegetables to the pan, moving them briskly through the remaining oil. As they dry, add either more oil, or water/vegetable stock (lower fat option). If you’re using water or stock, only use the tiniest amount. We’re not making soup. All the liquid should be absorbed/driven off by the time the vegetables are cooked.
  6. As the vegetables are cooking, stir a dessertspoon of pesto through your cold rice.
  7. Prepare your cold salad ingredients (leaves, yellow pepper, any nuts or seeds you wish to add) in a bowl.
  8. Now we decide whether to serve warm or cold. If cold, turn the heat off the vegetables. Combine the salad, rice, and halloumi in your bowl and allow the vegetables to cool before adding those, too. If warm, add the halloumi back to the pan and allow it to warm through. Stir in the rice and allow the vegetables and halloumi to warm it briefly. Combine with your salad and serve!
  9. Share and enjoy!

You can adapt the recipe as you see fit, adding seeds, nuts, more vegetables, or changing the rice to pasta, couscous, bulgur wheat, and so on. Or omit the carbs completely for a lighter supper. It’s a very versatile dish perfect for using up leftovers, so throw in what you like!

I look forward to sharing more recipes with you soon, when I’m properly mobile.

Love,
Miss Scrumptious x

Leave a Reply

